The performance


Songs From Under The River is an ensemble of eighteen poems from Anis Mojgani’s compilation of his early and new works titled ‘Songs From Under The River’. It includes his best and most popular poems like ‘Shake the Dust’, ‘Direct Orders’ and ‘Here I Am’. The appeal of his poems lies in the fact that they echo the most basic and honest human sentiments. His themes transcend gender, age and nationality. While some address unfortunate social stereotypes, there are others that reflect the mind of a confused teen, a lost love et al. You might just find your own song here.



Cast & Crew

Shakthi Ramani

V. Balakrishnan

Srivaralaxmi Venkatraman Iyer

Sunandha Ragunathan

Sandeep John

Mridula Arjun

Sruti Harihara Subramanian

Chandini Tandon

Taruna Jamalamadaka

Anupama Krishnaswami

Vasudev Menon

Meera Sitaraman

Anees Sultana


Presented by: The Prakriti Foundation

Rehearsal Support: Ashvita Fine Living

Technical Support: Victor Paulraj

Design & Direction: V. Balakrishnan

Lighting design & Execution: Meera Sitaraman & V. Balakrishnan


"A parallel universe" - a review in MetroPlus


The poet


Anis Mojgani is a spoken word poet, visual artist and musician based in Austin, Texas. He is one of only two people to have won multiple Individual Championship Titles at the National Poetry Slam (2005 & 2006), and was the winner of the International World Cup Poetry Slam in 2007. A widely published poet in journals such as Rattle, Forklift Ohio, Lumberyard, and Paper Darts, he also has three poetry books to his name: Over the Anvil We Stretch (2008), The Feather Room (2011), and Songs From Under The River (2013) - all published by Write Bloody Publishing.


Watch him perform Shake the Dust for To Write Love on Her Arms


  • Wix Facebook page
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Copyright © 2020 | Taruna for Theatre Nisha | All Rights Reserved